Tom Goldman http://wkyufm.org en Can Brazil Regain Soccer Glory With Beauty Over Brawn? http://wkyufm.org/post/can-brazil-regain-soccer-glory-beauty-over-brawn Copacabana Beach is supposed to be fun, but it wasn't Saturday night, after the Netherlands beat Brazil 3-0 in the World Cup third-place game.<p>That loss came on the heels of the 7-1 drubbing by Germany earlier in the week. It's the first time since 1940 that Brazil has lost consecutive home games, prompting calls for change in a country long associated with soccer splendor.<p>Sunday's championship match pits Germany against Argentina in Rio de Janeiro. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 12:22:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 50979 at http://wkyufm.org Can Brazil Regain Soccer Glory With Beauty Over Brawn? Brazil Wakes Up To Find Tuesday's Nightmare Was Not A Dream http://wkyufm.org/post/brazil-wakes-find-tuesdays-nightmare-was-not-dream Host country Brazil was eliminated from the World Cup in epic fashion: Germany defeated Brazil 7-1 during the semifinal match. Brazilians are wondering how their beloved team could be so pulverized. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 50758 at http://wkyufm.org Continental Rivals Take Spotlight In World Cup Quarters http://wkyufm.org/post/continental-rivals-take-spotlight-world-cup-quarters Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>In Brazil, tears of joy and relief as the World Cup home team won its quarterfinal against Colombia.<p>(CHEERING)<p>SIEGEL: Brazil beat Colombia 2-1 in a hard-fought game between the two South American neighbors, but as we'll hear, it was a costly victory. An earlier game today - Germany defeated France 1-nothing to move on to the World Cup final four. NPR's Tom Goldman is in Rio de Janeiro, and he joins us now. And, Tom, first of all, Brazil won. But in a way, it also lost. Fri, 04 Jul 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 50579 at http://wkyufm.org Belgium Ends U.S. Team's World Cup Hopes http://wkyufm.org/post/belgium-ends-us-teams-world-cup-hopes The U.S. men's soccer team is out of the World Cup. For 90 minutes, the score was tied at 0-0, but the team lost in extra time to Belgium on Tuesday, 2-1. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 09:05:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 50437 at http://wkyufm.org Despite Losing To Germany, U.S. Advances In World Cup http://wkyufm.org/post/despite-losing-germany-us-advances-world-cup The U.S. men's soccer team moves on to the World Cup's round of 16. They lost to Germany, but advance because Portugal beat Ghana. The team will get to rest a bit before playing Belgium on Tuesday. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 09:10:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 50216 at http://wkyufm.org World Cup Stadium In The Amazon Is Nice, But Is It Needed? http://wkyufm.org/post/world-cup-stadium-amazon-nice-it-needed The U.S. plays Portugal in a key World Cup match on Sunday, and it is in the tournament's most exotic locale: Manaus.<p>Manaus is a teeming city of nearly 2 million in the middle of the Amazon rainforest. But it's not some remote outpost; it's the sixth richest city in Brazil, thanks to its Free Trade Zone designation bringing big business like Nokia, Honda and Harley-Davidson.<p>Sunday's game will be the third of only four scheduled in the city's new $300 million World Cup stadium, the Arena da Amazonia. Sat, 21 Jun 2014 21:36:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 49934 at http://wkyufm.org World Cup Stadium In The Amazon Is Nice, But Is It Needed? A World Cup Stunner: Spain Fails To Defend Its Crown http://wkyufm.org/post/world-cup-stunner-spain-fails-defend-its-crown With an upset by Chile Wednesday, defending World Cup champion Spain has been eliminated from this year's tournament. Wed, 18 Jun 2014 21:18:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 49781 at http://wkyufm.org U.S. Soccer Hopes To Shake Shadow Of Recent History Against Ghana http://wkyufm.org/post/us-soccer-hopes-shake-shadow-recent-history-against-ghana Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block. It's game day for the U.S. men at the World Cup in Brazil. The Americans play their first game at the tournament in just under an hour. They face Ghana, the team that's eliminated the U.S. from the previous two World Cups. NPR's Tom Goldman is in the Brazilian city of Natal for that game, and he joins me now. And Tom, before we start talking about the upcoming U.S. game, let's talk about another big match that's been played today. Mon, 16 Jun 2014 20:07:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 49652 at http://wkyufm.org Brazil And Croatia Open World Cup Play On The Pitch http://wkyufm.org/post/brazil-and-croatia-open-world-cup-play-pitch Brazil and Croatia face off in the first game of the 2014 World Cup. Organizers hope the start of the tournament directs attention back on the field and away from the problems in preparation. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 21:31:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 49480 at http://wkyufm.org U.S. Men's Soccer Team Braces For World Cup Challenges http://wkyufm.org/post/us-mens-soccer-team-braces-world-cup-challenges The World Cup begins Thursday in Brazil. The U.S. team has its first match against Ghana the following week, the start of the so called "group of death." Mon, 09 Jun 2014 10:31:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 49253 at http://wkyufm.org