religion http://wkyufm.org en Arkansas Pastor is New Southern Baptist President http://wkyufm.org/post/arkansas-pastor-new-southern-baptist-president <p>An Arkansas megachurch pastor is the new president of the Southern Baptist convention. The Rev. Ronnie Floyd received 52% of votes from delegates to the annual meeting of the nation's largest Protestant denomination.</p><p>Floyd beat out the Rev. Dennis Kim, the Korean-American pastor of a bilingual Maryland church, who received 41% of the vote. Floyd has been pastor at Cross Church in northwest Arkansas for 27 years. About 8,500 people worship each week at one of the church's several locations. He was nominated by the powerful head of Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, the Rev.&nbsp; Albert Mohler.</p><p>Mohler told the crowd of 5,000 meeting in Baltimore that Floyd is the person who can lead the Nashville-based denomination at a time of "horrifying moral rebellion" in the nation. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 12:37:59 +0000 Associated Press 49380 at http://wkyufm.org Most Americans See Bible As Word Of God, Gallup Says http://wkyufm.org/post/most-americans-see-bible-word-god-gallup-says Three out of four Americans believe the Bible is the word of God, according to a <a href="http://www.gallup.com/poll/170834/three-four-bible-word-god.aspx">new Gallup poll</a>; some say the literal word, others that a supreme being inspired the text. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 23:04:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 49084 at http://wkyufm.org Most Americans See Bible As Word Of God, Gallup Says Prayers Before Town Hall Meetings Are Constitutional, High Court Finds http://wkyufm.org/post/prayers-town-hall-meetings-are-constitutional-high-court-finds A city council in upstate New York is not violating the Constitution when it opens its meetings with a prayer, the U.S. Supreme Court held Monday <a href="http://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/13pdf/12-696_4f57.pdf">with a 5-4 vote</a>.<p><a href="http://www.npr.org/2013/11/06/243290108/supreme-court-case-puts-public-prayer-back-in-the-spotlight">As we've reported,</a> the town of Greece, N.Y., used to open its board meetings with a moment of silence. Mon, 05 May 2014 15:54:00 +0000 editor 47569 at http://wkyufm.org Prayers Before Town Hall Meetings Are Constitutional, High Court Finds Kentucky Southern Baptists Draw Crowds With Gun Giveaways http://wkyufm.org/post/kentucky-southern-baptists-draw-crowds-gun-giveaways It's an hour before suppertime, and the line outside Lone Oak First Baptist Church in Paducah, Ky., is wrapped around the building. The people are waiting for more than a Bible sermon; there's a raffle tonight. Twenty-five guns are up for grabs.<p>There's nothing new about gun raffles in Kentucky, even at a church. Last year, there were 50 events like this one in the state. The Kentucky Baptist Convention says it's a surefire way to get new people through church doors.<p>Sunday school teacher David Keele says everyone he knows has a gun. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 07:02:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 44827 at http://wkyufm.org Kentucky Southern Baptists Draw Crowds With Gun Giveaways Who 'Won' The Creation Vs. Evolution Debate? http://wkyufm.org/post/who-won-creation-vs-evolution-debate Days after a wide-ranging debate on creationism and evolution between Bill Nye and Ken Ham, the event is driving an online conversation. Themes of belief and literalism, logic and faith — and, for some, relevance — are being aired and disputed. And some wonder what the debate accomplished.<p>The video of the more than two-hour debate, in which Nye and Ham presented their views on how the Earth and its surroundings were created, has been viewed more than 830,000 times on YouTube. At one point, the live event drew more than 500,000 viewers.<p>And the interest has persisted. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 21:26:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 43461 at http://wkyufm.org Who 'Won' The Creation Vs. Evolution Debate? Creationism Vs. Evolution: The Debate Is Live Tonight http://wkyufm.org/post/creationism-vs-evolution-debate-live-tonight <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z6kgvhG3AkI</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gHbYJfwFgOU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxX11c1cSWU</p> Tue, 04 Feb 2014 13:20:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 43328 at http://wkyufm.org Creationism Vs. Evolution: The Debate Is Live Tonight Kentucky Court Won't Hear Challenge to God Reference http://wkyufm.org/post/kentucky-court-wont-hear-challenge-god-reference <p>The Kentucky Supreme Court has declined to hear a challenge to a ruling that allows a reference to "Almighty God" in the state homeland security law. Mon, 20 Aug 2012 13:18:58 +0000 Associated Press & Courier-Journal 17732 at http://wkyufm.org