Mitt Romney http://wkyufm.org en Poll: Slight Majorities of Kentuckians Approve of McConnell, Paul http://wkyufm.org/post/poll-slight-majorities-kentuckians-approve-mcconnell-paul <p>A new Courier-Journal Bluegrass Poll shows just over half of Kentuckians approves of the job performance of both Senators Mitch McConnell and Rand Paul. According to the poll, McConnell has a 51% approval rating. Paul does slightly better, with a 53% approval mark. Mon, 17 Sep 2012 13:37:59 +0000 Kevin Willis 19274 at http://wkyufm.org Tennessee Economics Official to Join Mitt Romney's Campaign http://wkyufm.org/post/tennessee-economics-official-join-mitt-romneys-campaign <p>Tennessee’s top economic development officer is taking a temporary leave from his job to help Mitt Romney’s presidential campaign. Bill Hagerty will join the GOP election effort through November 6. Mon, 10 Sep 2012 18:49:21 +0000 The Tennessean 18910 at http://wkyufm.org Kentucky's Senators Give Back-to-Back Speeches at RNC http://wkyufm.org/post/kentuckys-senators-give-back-back-speeches-rnc <p>Kentucky may not be a key state in this fall’s presidential election, but its two senators played a key role in GOP attacks on the president Wednesday night. Senators Mitch McConnell and Rand Paul spoke back to back at the Republican National Convention. Their speeches were a one-two punch against many of President Barack Obama's policies. Thu, 30 Aug 2012 14:28:06 +0000 18345 at http://wkyufm.org Barr Uses Coal Issues to Contrast President Obama and Mitt Romney http://wkyufm.org/post/barr-uses-coal-issues-contrast-president-obama-and-mitt-romney <p>Republican Congressional candidate Andy Barr focused on coal in his national debut at the Republican National Convention. Barr is running against Congressman Ben Chandler in Kentucky’s Sixth District, which covers much of the central part of the state. Tue, 28 Aug 2012 21:10:04 +0000 18236 at http://wkyufm.org Running Mate: Romney Selects Rep. Paul Ryan for VP Pick http://wkyufm.org/post/running-mate-romney-selects-rep-paul-ryan-vp-pick <p>NPR and other news outlets are reporing that Wisconsin Rep. Paul Ryan is Mitt Romney&#39;s choice as running mate on the 2012 Republican presidential ticket.</p><p>Official word of the choice, <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2012/08/10/158606908/mitt-romney-to-announce-running-mate-saturday" target="_blank">which began leaking overnight</a>, came early this morning from the Romney campaign via a smartphone app and a news release.</p> Sat, 11 Aug 2012 11:46:23 +0000 WKU Public Radio News 17225 at http://wkyufm.org Sen. Paul: I'm Not Being Vetted for Romney's VP Pick http://wkyufm.org/post/sen-paul-im-not-being-vetted-romneys-vp-pick <p>Despite speculation of greater ambitions, U.S. Senator Rand Paul is likely to stay in his current position if Republican presidential candidate Mitt Romney is elected this fall. Rumors about Paul&rsquo;s future have picked up ever since he endorsed Mitt Romney earlier this year, even though his father, Texas Congressman Ron Paul, was technically still in the race. Wed, 08 Aug 2012 20:31:57 +0000 17047 at http://wkyufm.org Rand Paul Says He's Ready for a "Fight and Tussle" Over His Pakistan Aid Bill http://wkyufm.org/post/rand-paul-says-hes-ready-fight-and-tussle-over-his-pakistan-aid-bill <p>Kentucky Senator Rand Paul says he will use procedural tactics to delay future spending votes unless his bill on aid to Pakistan gets an up-or-down vote. The Bowling Green Republican is pushing a measure that would cut U.S. financial assistance to Pakistan, unless that country frees a doctor who helped the C.I.A. track down Osama Bin Laden. Wed, 08 Aug 2012 15:01:05 +0000 Kevin Willis 17019 at http://wkyufm.org Kentucky and Arkansas Wins Push Romney Closer to GOP Victory http://wkyufm.org/post/kentucky-and-arkansas-wins-push-romney-closer-gop-victory <p>Mitt Romney swept the Kentucky and Arkansas Republican presidential primaries Tuesday, inching closer to the GOP nomination he is certain to win. With no serious opposition left, the former Massachusetts governor easily won both contests. He won all 42 delegates at stake in Kentucky and at least 31 of the 33 delegates at stake in Arkansas. Wed, 23 May 2012 13:18:14 +0000 Associated Press 12864 at http://wkyufm.org Lasley: Get Ready for a Nasty Campaign this Fall http://wkyufm.org/post/lasley-get-ready-nasty-campaign-fall <p>A WKU political analyst says voters should brace themselves for a rough general election battle this fall. Political Science Professor Scott Lasley says with Rick Santorum out of the Republican primary, Mitt Romney and President Obama can focus on something they had already started to do&mdash;blaming the other person&rsquo;s ideology for the current condition of the economy. Tue, 10 Apr 2012 20:38:09 +0000 Kevin Willis 10588 at http://wkyufm.org Rand Paul Says it Would be an Honor to be Considered for Vice President http://wkyufm.org/post/rand-paul-says-it-would-be-honor-be-considered-vice-president <p>Kentucky&#39;s junior US Senator says he would be honored if GOP Presidential candidate Mitt Romney considered him as a possible running mate. Earlier this year Senator Paul said he wouldn&#39;t close the door on being a Vice-Presidential candidate. After a speech in Louisville today, he told reporters &quot;it would be an honor to be considered.&quot;</p><p> Wed, 22 Feb 2012 22:25:35 +0000 7906 at http://wkyufm.org Rand Paul Says it Would be an Honor to be Considered for Vice President