Dozens More Kentucky Counties Added to Primary Drought Area

Aug 21, 2012

Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear's office says another 68 counties have been declared primary disaster areas due to damage from drought. U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack issued the declaration, which also qualifies 22 contiguous counties for assistance.

Beshear's office says following a similar declaration last month and earlier this month, a total of 116 counties are either primary or contiguous disaster areas due to drought.

The four counties not covered are Bell, Harlan, Leslie and Perry.

Beshear says even recent rains haven't provided sufficient relief for crops