Federal Courthouse in Eastern Kentucky Slated to Close

Sep 11, 2012

The federal judiciary says it will close six courthouses in the South because of inadequate funding from Congress and the prospect of more drastic cuts. The Judicial Conference announced Tuesday the courthouses to close are in Pikeville, Ky.; Gadsen, Ala.; Meridian, Miss.; Wilkesboro, N.C.; Beaufort, S.C.; and Amarillo, Texas. 

The closures are expected to save $1 million a year in rent.  The judiciary said it could see its budget cut by more than $500 million if Congress fails to reach a budget deal and automatic across-the-board spending cuts kick in next year. 

None of the facilities to be closed has a judge who is based there. Instead, judges travel from larger cities as needed. There are 674 federal courthouses around the country.