Governor Unveils Tax Commission He Hopes Will Overhaul System

Kentucky Governor Steve Beshear has put together a bipartisan group of 23 Kentuckians to serve on his tax commission. The group is made up partially of lawmakers from each party, although they won’t be able to vote on commission issues.

Other members include former University of Kentucky president Lee Todd, banker and Republican fundraiser Marion Forcht, and Louisville businessman Junior Bridgeman.

The commission's recommendations for changes to the state tax code are due by November 15, well after the current legislative session ends.

“To throw this issue at reforming Kentucky’s tax system out into those roiling and boiling waters at this time would simply not allow this effort to get the fair and sincere consideration that it deserves,” Beshear says.

Lieutenant Governor Jerry Abramson will lead the commission.

“We will be having hearings around the state," Abramson says. "Going to gave six public hearings and there will be one in each of the six congressional districts and we’ll be putting out that schedule closer to the end of spring, going to the summer. The body, the commission will be meeting obviously in open session at all time.”

Here is the list of all members of the Blue Ribbon Tax Commission:

Lt. Gov. Jerry Abramson, chairman

Roszalyn Akins, Lexington

Jason Bailey, Kentucky Center for Economic Policy

Jim Booth, Inez coal operator, major donor to Beshear's re-election

Junior Bridgeman, Louisville businessman

Rocky Comito, Shepherdsville

Luther Deaton, Nicholasville businessman

Marion Forcht, Corbin banker and Republican fundraiser

Rick Jordan, Louisville

Walton Pat Mulloy, Louisville

Dr. Sheila Schuster, Louisville

Stu Silberman, head of the Pritchard Committee

Dr. Lee Todd, former UK president

Leslie Weigel, Bowling Green

John Williams, Paducah

Joe Wright, Hazard

Cathy Zion, Louisville

State Rep. Rick Rand (non-voting)

State Rep. Jim Wayne (non-voting)

State Rep. Bill Farmer (non-voting)

State Sen. Bob Leeper (non-voting)

State Sen. Paul Hornback (non-voting)

State Sen. Gerald Neal (non-voting)