Live Blog: Kentucky Primary Election Results

May 20, 2014

Credit Abbey Oldham/WKU Public Radio

Update: 10:00 p.m.: Warren County voters have set the field for some important local November matchups.

David Lanphear emerged at the top vote-getter in a five-way primary for Warren County Family Court Judge. Rebecca Adams Simpson came in second place, only one point behind Lanphear.

Lanphear and Adams Simpson both move on to the November general election. The judgeship was formerly held by Margaret Huddleston, who died from cancer in January.

Of the nine candidates for Bowling Green City Commission, eight will compete in the fall, and ultimately four will be elected. Incumbent Joe Denning received the most votes, followed closely behind incumbent Melinda Hill and challenger Sue Perrigin.

Rounding out the field that will appear on the November ballot are Rick Williams, Slim Nash, Mike Clark, Mark Bradford, and Don Langley.

Update: 9:59 p.m. A Hardin County Republican House incumbent has held on against a strong primary challenger. Elizabethtown Rep. Tim Moore defeated Stephen Meredith 53-47 percent. Moore is a U.S. Air Force Reserve pilot who has represented the 26th House district since 2007.

Update: 9:53 p.m. In one of the few upsets of Tuesday's Kentucky primary, Republican State Sen. Sara Beth Gregory lost to a political newcomer. Max Wise, a political science professor at Campbellsville University, beat Gregory in a hotly contested District 16 Senate race, 54 to 46. The district covers Adair, Clinton and several other counties in South-Central Kentucky - Jonathan Meador, Kentucky Public Radio

Update: 8:22pm:  The Owensboro Messenger-Inquirer reports Daviess County Judge-Executive Al Mattingly has won re-election over challenger Gary Boswell.

Update: 8:12pm:  Warren County Judge-Executive Mike Buchanon wins re-election, as well as Simpson County Judge-Executive Jim Henderson.

Update: 7:50pm:  Top two vote-getters in the Glasgow mayor's race go on to general election.  They are Dick Doty and incumbent Rhonda Trautman.

Update: 7:38pm:  Unofficial final results from Democratic primary for Barren County Judge-Executive.  Michael Hale (1,641 votes) wins by one vote over Bud Tarry (1,640 votes).  David Honeycutt won GOP primary in this race.

Update: 7:06pm: State legislative races:  In the 16th State Senate District, Republican challenger Max Wise of Campbellsville is currently leading GOP incumbent Sara Beth Gregory of Monticello.  State Representative Jimmie Lee, an incumbent Democrat from Elizabethtown has a commanding lead over challenger Glenn Fonda in the 25th District House race.  Elizabethtown Rep. Tim Moore, a Republican, is leading by a wide margin over challenger Stephen Meredith.

Update: 6:52pm:  The top two vote-getters in the race for Family Court Judge in Warren County will meet in the November election.  Early results show David Lanphear and Rebecca Adams Simpson in the lead.

Update: 6:42

Democrat Elizabeth Jensen has won the Kentucky 6th U.S. House primary over Geoff Young. Jensen will face Republican Andy Barr in November.

Update: 6:10 p.m.
The Associated Press is calling the Kentucky GOP Senate Primary for incumbent Mitch McConnell.  The call came shortly after polls closed in the central time zone.

Update 5:35 p.m.

From Kentucky Public Radio’s Jonathan Meador: The Kentucky Attorney General’s Office says it has received 80 calls to its election fraud hotline. Nearly 20 instances of vote buying and selling have been reported, with most coming from Breathitt County, followed by Bell and Clay Counties. The bulk of the complaints concern instances of alleged election fraud and procedural questions related to voting. The Attorney General’s Office says it does not release information “regarding specific complaints or possible pending investigations,” and will provide another update tonight.

Original Post:

When polls close at 6 p.m. local time, keep checking back here for the latest updates from Tuesday's Kentucky primary elections. We'll have updates on the big races around our listening area and the statewide races as well. 

Our extended election night coverage on-air begins at 6c/7e on WKU Public Radio. You can always listen over the air or online by clicking on the "Listen Live" button at the top of the page.