Three Educators Selected for Kentucky Teacher Hall of Fame

Nov 25, 2013

Left to Right: Golda P. Walbert, Debra Burgess, Cynthia S. Wooden

Three teachers have been chosen for the Gov. Louie B. Nunn Kentucky Teacher Hall of Fame, housed at Western Kentucky University.

The teachers are Golda P. Walbert, Debra Burgess and Cynthia S. Wooden.

Walbert taught from 1943 to 1989, first in Rockcastle County, then Harlan and Barren counties.

Burgess, a San Antonio, Texas, native, taught at Murray High School from 1980 to 2012 and has been an adjunct instructor at Murray State University since 2011.

Wooden, a Lubbock, Texas, native, taught in Texas from 1979 to 1985 and has taught in Kenton County since 1987.

The 2014 induction ceremony is Feb. 6 in Frankfort.

The Kentucky Teacher Hall of Fame was created in 2000 through a gift by Nunn.

Read more here: