Three Kentucky Counties Certified as "Work Ready"

Feb 17, 2012

Daviess, Warren, and Woodford Counties have qualified for "work ready" certification, according to Governor Steve Beshear. The designation means the communities have local workforces that are ready for existing and future jobs.


The certification is based on the quality of the local labor force, and measures six areas--- including digital literacy,the High School graduation rate, and educational attainment. Applications for the certification were reviewed by a panel appointed by the Kentucky Workforce Investment Board. State officials say they look forward to certifying many other counties in the future.

Russell County was designated as a "Work Ready Community in Progress" because it is close to meeting the criteria to be certified. Kentucky is the third state to start certifying counties as "work ready", based on the quality of the labor force.