WKU Places in Top 5 Nationally in Hearst Journalism Competition

May 30, 2012

Western Kentucky University’s School of Journalism & Broadcasting has finished fourth in the Overall Intercollegiate Championship in the 52nd annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program. WKU has ranked among the top eight nationally for 19 consecutive years and won the overall title in 2005, 2001 and 2000.

Often called the “Pulitzers of College Journalism,” the Hearst program holds yearlong competitions in writing, photojournalism, broadcast news and multimedia offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

The 2011-12 Hearst overall top 10 schools were: Penn State, Missouri, North Carolina, WKU, Nebraska, Arizona State, Florida, Indiana, Montana and Oregon.

Earlier this year, WKU won the Hearst program’s Intercollegiate Multimedia Championship and won the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition for the fourth consecutive year and 20th time in 23 years.

Four WKU students will compete for photojournalism and multimedia national championships next week (June 4-8) in San Francisco.

Brynn Anderson of Bowling Green, Christian Randolph of Oxnard, Calif., and Armando Sanchez of Clovis, Calif., are among six finalists for the photojournalism championship while Zack Conkle of Louisville is one of five finalists for the multimedia championship.

In the past 25 years, 10 WKU students have won the Hearst program’s individual photojournalism championship -- 1987, 1988, 1991, 1992, 1996, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008 and 2010.